The Assisted Conception Unit was founded in 1994 to provide fertility treatment and assisted conception to our local population. We were based at Queen Mary's Hospital in Roehampton until June 2012 when we moved to refurbished and larger facilities at Kingston Hospital.  In February 2021 we moved to new premises on the Kingston Hospital site and we are now based in the Kingston Private Health Unit on the 7th Floor of Esher Wing.

We have worked closely with several centres of excellence to develop our "Transport IVF" service and we have grown to become a large provider of this type of IVF and now see patients from many parts of the UK and beyond. We have been working with King's College Hospital in Denmark Hill since April 2015 (now known as King's Fertility). 

Medical Staff

Miss Rowena Bevan, MA MD FRCOG

Miss Bevan was appointed as lead clinician in 2001. She is Person Responsible to the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority. She is a consultant gynaecologist  and subspecialist in reproductive medicine and minimal access surgery.

Miss Bevan qualified at Queens' College, Cambridge University and Guy's Hospital, London University. She trained in reproductive medicine and surgery at Hammersmith Hospital and St. Mary's, Paddington.

Mr Emmanuel Kalu, Pg Cert Med Ed, MRCOG

Mr Kalu was appointed to the ACU in 2008 as a consultant gynaecologist and subspecialist in reproductive medicine and minimal access surgery. He has a special interest in assisted conception and the management of endometriosis related infertility.

Mr Kalu trained in reproductive medicine and surgery at The Chelsea and Westminster Hospital and The Lister Fertility Clinic.

Mr Tom Brooker, MRCOG

Mr Brooker is a consultant obstetrician and gynaecologist with a special interest in fertility. His interests include HyCoSy scanning and transgender fertility preservation. He joined the ACU in 2015.   Mr Brooker qualified from St George’s Hospital Medical School in 2004 and undertook a fellowship in IVF at Guy’s Hospital in 2011.


Fertility Counsellor

 Angela Pericleous-Smith

Nursing Staff

Laura MacGreggor  BA (Hons) RGN 

Laura is the Lead Nurse for ACU having joined the team in 2016.  She is a qualified nurse with over 15 years experience.  Laura has always had an interest in women's health, working in theatres, outpatients and ward areas.  Since joining ACU Laura has achieved the BFS Pelvic Ultrasound Accreditation and has developed the advanced skill of HyCoSy scanning.  She is a member of the BFS and SING (Senior Infertility Nurses Group).

Aimee Corpuz  BA (Hons) RGN

Aimee joined Kingston from the Philippines and worked in Kingston Hospital's Gynaecology Unit prior to joining the team in 2012.   Aimee is accredited to perform pelvic ultrasound by the BFS (British Fertility Society) in 2014, a member of the SING (Senior Infertility Nurses Group) and is Hycosy trained.  She completed a degree in Bachelor of Science in Nursing with Honours in the Philippines.  Aimee has a special interest in early pregnancy scanning and is currently partially seconded to the early pregnancy unit.  


Aoife McNulty-Seery  BA (Hons) RGN

Aoife joined ACU in 2019 having been a junior sister on the gynaecology ward for several years.  She has supported women through various surgeries and has a special interest in patient support. Qualified in pelvic ultrasound scanning through the BFS (British Fertility Society) she actively mentors junior doctors and nurses through their own training.  


ACU & Laboratory Manager - Elaine Taylor

Elaine joined the Kingston team in 2020 to run the Andrology service and is now also the Unit Manager. She has been a State Registered Clinical Scientist for over 23 years and has spent a large part of her career as an Embryologist working in both NHS and private IVF units and is happy to answer your questions on any aspect of laboratory processes. Elaine is a member of the Association of Reproductive Clinical Scientists